On Sunday, I celebrated my 32nd birthday.  Lunch with the family and I took my niece to the park to play.  Nothing really special.  You know, all the typical Facebook birthday wishes and texts throughout the day.  Then it hit me… 

As important as everything is to me, the challenge of getting older isn’t necessarily reminiscing about the past.  The challenge is not wanting to reinvent it with modern style. 

 (L-R) Me, my niece Lizzy, and Lonna(who might as well be my niece) 

So, as I was playing with Lizzy at the park, she was insistent that I play with her.  I was thinking to myself, “I am too big to be sliding down these slides or to be crawling around like a monkey.”  She didn’t care as much as I did.  She just wanted her uncle to play around with her… to take part in her adventure.  So, I did as any good uncle would.

Little did I really understand what was going on and the opportunity I had to make a transition out of one phase of life and into another.

There’s an inherent antagonistic element to change and it can be scary.  Nobody, so long as they’re willing, will admit that it it’s time to let it go… to retire, so to speak.

So, on the way home, I decided to let her play on a splash pad.  She was red in the face and it was hot… So, in she went!  Happier than a pig in poop…

And I wondered what one last hoorah would be like…

It’s a good thing that looking at it all now, I wouldn’t change anything.  Sure, things could be better.  No disputing it.  And there are times where I’d give anything for another go… one more chance, right?

Being happy with what’s done won’t come from what you can or could do if given an opportunity.  Being happy comes from willing to let it stand and build another monument alongside it. 

So, as I move into this new phase of life, I encourage all of you who are doing the same to just let what’s behind you be and build something that is different and worthy to stand. 

“Hey… you be careful out there.”

Aye.

-Kevin

Leave a Reply

